Court Acknowledges Deregistration Of 32 Political Parties

Court Acknowledges Deregistration Of 32 Political Parties

Oluwapelumi Fasoyin, Lagos

The Federal High Court in Abuja on Thursday acknowledged the deregistration of 32 political parties.

The suit filed by the parties against the powers of the Independent National Electoral Commission to deregister them have been ousted by Justice Anwuli Chikere.

In her judgement, she said the commission rightly deregistered the parties in line with the provision of section 225(a) of the Nigerian Constitution.

The court discharged the restraining order as it validated the commission’s action.

Some of the affected 32 political parties are Advanced Congress of Democrats, Advanced Nigeria Democratic Party, All Blending Party, All Grand Alliance Party, Better Nigeria Progressive Party, Democratic People’s Congress, Freedom and Justice Party, and Green Party of Nigeria.

The political parties were among the 74 that were deregistered by the INEC on February 6, 2020, on the grounds of poor performance at the 2019 general elections.

Post a Comment